The 9th Dish @ World Cuisine Challenge: Korean Food- Sweet rice ball

I am willing to try to make this Korean dessert because I really like the taste of sweet rice. I still remember when I was in primary school, we usually bought sweet rice ice cream at school’s convenience store. Now it’s hardly found it in stores or supermarket. I hope this kind of sweet rice ball would call the memory of my childhood.

Putting red kidney beans into the sweet rice ball is not an easy work. You should make sure it wouldn’t be outflow or break. That why I said the level of the skill is 4 score. Tips: from my experience, I just make two dough sheet, put red kidney beans on one of the dough sheet, and put another one cover the mashed beans then roll it to a ball. Finally, the ball looks good. I also bring some for my co-worker, they said they are good. I didn’t put too many sugar in it, but if you like sweet, just put more sugar.

Korean Food: sweet rice ball MTXX_20150130_221748

Recipe:

  • 375g/2 cup red kidney beans, soaked overnight
  • 200g/1 cup sugar
  • 20ml black sesame seeds
  • 20 red dates, stoned and finely chopped (I didn’t make this ball, just because I don’t quite like red dates especially for dried one)
  • 20 chestnuts, finely chopped
  • 400g sweet rice flour
  • 5ml salt

Source from ‘Taste of Korea’

Taste (bad1-excellent 5): 4

Time: 1.5 hr

Skill (easy 1- hard 5): 4.5

Healthy (unhealthy 1-healthy 5): 3.5

Spicy (no-spicy 1 -very spicy 5):0