Dish 44: Japanese cuisine – Sweet and spicy celery salad

This dish is far yummy than I was expected. I am not a fan of celery, actually I seldom eat celery in my daily meals. WW like it, he “beg” me to cook a celery dish for him, then I found this recipe and cooked it. After the first bit of this cooked celery, I was surprise that it was so yummy. The original flavor of celery was covered by the sweet and spicy. Of course, I ate a lot of them. I definitely like to cook celery in this way in the future and it’s worth you to try it!

Making process: Add the oil to a large skillet over medium heat and stir-fry the red pepper for 30 seconds. Add the celery to the skillet and stir-fry on medium low heat for about 15 mins. Add other ingredients in the all.

Recipe:

  • 1 bunch celery, cut into thin slices
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 dried red pepper
  • 1 pitted and pickled plum (umeboshi), mashed (optional)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp toasted sesame seeds

Taste (bad1-excellent 5): 5

Time: 25mins

Skill (easy 1- hard 5): 3.5

Healthy (unhealthy 1-healthy 5): 3.5

Spicy (no-spicy 1 -very spicy 5): 3

Leave a Reply

